Public submissions invited on the eight Bills

The Chairperson of the Standing Committee on Justice, Law and Human Rights, Hon. Alvick Maharaj is inviting interested persons or institutions to provide their views and comments on the following eight Bills that were referred to the Committee during the last sitting of Parliament:

  1. Trademarks Bill 2020 (Bill No. 45 of 2020)
  2. Patents Bill 2020 (Bill No. 46 of 2020)
  3. Designs Bill 2020 (Bill No. 47 of 2020)
  4. National Payment Systems Bill 2020 (Bill No. 48 of 2020)
  5. Investment Bill 2020 (Bill No. 49 of 2020)
  6. Electoral (Amendment) Bill 2020 (Bill No. 50 of 2020)
  7. Electoral (Registration of Voters) (Amendment) Bill 2020 (Bill No. 51 of 2020)
  8. Political Parties (Registration, Conduct, Funding and Disclosures) (Amendment) Bill 2020 (Bill No. 52 of 2020)

Copies of the Bills can be accessed on the Parliament website –

Views and comments are to be provided in written form and submitted through email to or and hardcopy to The Chairperson, Standing Committee on Justice, Law and Human Rights, P.O. Box 2352, Parliament Complex, Government Buildings, Suva.

Please note that the National Payment Systems Bill 2020 should be received by 4pm, Saturday 16th January 2021 while the remaining Bills by Saturday 13th February 2021.

Furthermore, the Committee will also be conducting public consultations at the following venues from next week:

11 Jan 2021
Namosi Provincial Council Hall (Ro Kuruduadua Hall) (Navua) 2 pm
12 Jan 2021
Sigatoka Police Conference Room (Sigatoka) 10am – 12pm
Shalini Apartment Conference Room (Sigatoka) 5pm


13 Jan 2021
Nadi Town Council Hall (Nadi) 10am – 12pm
Mr. Vinesh Rai’s residence (Advisory Councillor), Sabeto  (Nadi)


14 Jan 2021
Lautoka City Mayoral Chamber (Lautoka) 10am – 12pm
Vakabuli Primary School Hall (Lautoka) 4pm


15 Jan 2021
Ba Town Council Hall (Ba) 10am – 12pm
Moto (Ba) 4pm


16 Jan 2021
District Office Tavua, EOC Room, (Tavua) 9am
Rakiraki Police HQ Conference Room, George Shiu Raj Building  (Rakiraki) 12pm


18 Jan 2021
District Office Conference Room (Korovou) 10am – 12pm
Nausori Community Hall (Nausori) (tentative) 4pm

Persons wishing to attend the public consultations are to contact the Committee Secretariat beforehand on phone no. 9908595.