Heritage and Investment Fiji Bills to be discussed in the Central and Western Divisions

The Parliament Standing Committee on Justice, Law and Human Rights will be conducting site visits and public consultation on the Heritage Bill 2021 and the Investment Fiji Bill 2022 in the Central and Western divisions from tomorrow, Wednesday 23 February 2022.

The Heritage Bill 2021 aims to establish a Fiji Heritage Council, which would be responsible for advising the Minister responsible for Heritage on matters regarding the recognition and management of places in Fiji, which have potential and actual world heritage values.

The Investment Fiji Bill 2022 was introduced to realign the mandate and functions of Investment Fiji to that of a promotional agency, and which would enable Investment Fiji to move away from being a regulator of foreign investors in Fiji and to focus primarily on the role of being a promotional agency for attracting both foreign and domestic investors to invest in Fiji.

The Standing Committee will be conducting site visits and public consultations as per the schedule below:

  • Wednesday 23 February – Navua – Site visit at the Garrick Memorial Forest Reserve
  • Thursday 24 February – Sigatoka – Site visit at the Sigatoka Sand Dunes and public consultation at Kulukulu Primary School, Sigatoka
  • Friday 25 February – Sigatoka – Site visit at the Momi Gun-site and public consultation at Momi village and surrounding communities
  • Saturday 26 February – Nadi/Lautoka – public consultation
  • Sunday 27 February – Ba/Vatukoula – public consultation and site visit to the Vatukoula Gold Mine
  • Monday 28 February – Rakiraki public consultation
  • Wednesday 2 March – Naitasiri/Namosi – public consultation and site visit to Sovi Basin.

A copy of the Bills can be accessed on the Fijian Parliament website – Heritage Bill 2021 – Bill-No.-3-Heritage-.pdf (parliament.gov.fj)  and the Investment Fiji Bill 2022 – Bill-No.-5-Investment-Fiji-Bill-2022.pdf (parliament.gov.fj)

For those who wish to make a submission on any of the two Bills to please contact the Committee Secretariat on 9908 595 or email addresses ira.komaisavai@legislature.gov.fj, or jackson.cakacaka@parliament.gov.fj