FOHWA celebrate Speaker’s achievement

The Fiji Oral Health Workers Association (FOHWA) was honoured with the opportunity to celebrate the achievements by the Speaker of Parliament, Hon. Dr Jiko Luveni during their 26th Annual Meeting, Scientific Conference and Excellence Service Awards that ended on Saturday, 8th September 2018.

Hon. Dr Luveni was the chief guest and guest of honor during the event.

She was recently awarded the Honorary Fellowship Award from the Council of the Royal Australasian College of Dental Surgeons (RACDS).

“It gives us pride to celebrate the significance of the awarding of an Honorary Fellowship to Madame Speaker Dr Luveni,” said the FOHWA General Secretary, Mr. Vinod Kumar.

Similar sentiments were shared by the FOHWA Senior Executive Mr Penioni Ravunawa.

“Madame Speaker Dr Luveni’s service to dentistry was exemplary and her dedication for women, children and other disadvantaged groups who have high oral inequality and high oral health needs, her contributions to Public Health Dentistry in the Pacific, working with HIV/AIDS in the Pacific, supporting the growth and education of girls and women are some of her legacies,” said Mr Ravunawa.

“It’s pleasant to hear that Hon. Dr Luveni pledged to further raise awareness of oral health needs in the Pacific and help aid in the further understanding that oral health is a basic human right.”

The meeting was attended by over 140 local Dental Practitioners and a few from the region.

Meanwhile, the association also held its annual service excellence awards to recognize and reward the high achieving dental practitioners in the last 12 months.

The award winners were as follows:

  1. Dental Officer – Category Presented to Dr. Janette R Daunakamakama- Senior Dental Officer Lautoka Hospital
  2. Dental Therapist Category –Mrs. Taraivina Marama Qalita- Dental Therapist, CWM Hospital
  3. Dental Hygienist – Category Presented to Ms. Koini Marama Verebasaga- Dental Hygienist, Suva School Team
  4. Dental Technician – Category Presented to Mr. Ratu Viliame R Vakacereivalu- Dental Technician Lautoka Hospital
  5. Best Team – Category Labasa School Team [Macuata Subdivision]
  6. Oral Health Information System – Category Presented to Mr. William Saqusaqu [Lautoka Hospital]
  7. Best Leadership – Category Presented to Dr. Taraivini Savou Torosi [Ra Subdivision]