

PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF FIJI

MINUTES

of Proceedings of Parliament at Suva on Tuesday, Twelfth day of March, 2024

- 1. The House met at 9.30 a.m. pursuant to adjournment.
- 2. Hon. Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer.

3. <u>MEMBERS PRESENT</u>

All Honourable Members were present except for the Hon. Faiyaz Koya.

4. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

The Leader of the Government in Parliament the Hon. Ro Filipe Tuisawau, moved that the minutes of the sitting of Parliament held on Monday, 11 March 2024, as previously circulated be taken as read and be confirmed.

Motion seconded.

Question put.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

5. <u>COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE CHAIR</u>

Hon. Speaker welcomed all Honourable Members to the sitting of Parliament. He also welcomed all those watching the live broadcast and the live-streaming of the proceedings from their home, office and electronic device.

The Hon. Speaker reminded Honourable Members to focus their responses to the content of His Excellency's address.

The Hon. Speaker also reminded Honourable Members that the right of reply would only by delivered by the mover of the motion, which in this case, would be the Hon. Prime Minister. In that respect, the Hon. Speaker instructed for the *Hansard* report to be amended accordingly, to expunge any references to 'my right of reply' by any other Honourable Member.

6. RESUMPTION OF DEBATE ON THE MOTION BY THE HONOURABLE PRIME MINISTER

Parliament resumed debate on the motion that the Parliament thanks His Excellency the President for his most gracious speech.

Debate ensued.

[Speakers: Hon. Semi Koroilavesau, Hon. Maciu Nalumisa, Hon. Virendra Lal, Hon. Lynda Tabuya, Hon. Premila Kumar, Hon. Lenora Qereqeretabua, Hon. Shalen Kumar, Hon. Aseri Radrodro, Hon. Parveen Bala, Hon. Kalaveti Ravu, Hon. Naisa Tuinaceva, Hon. Vatimi Rayalu, Hon. Alvick Maharaj and Hon. Jese Saukuru.]

7. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

The Hon. Deputy Speaker thanked the Honourable Members for their contributions and adjourned Parliament until Wednesday, 13 March 2024 at 9.30 a.m.

Parliament adjourned at 4.19 p.m.

Speaker of Parliament

Secretary-General to Parliament

12th March, 2024.