

PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF FIJI

MINUTES

of Proceedings of Parliament at Suva on Tuesday, Eleventh Day of July, 2023

- 1. The House met at 9.30 a.m. pursuant to adjournment.
- 2. Hon. Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer.

3. <u>MEMBERS PRESENT</u>

All Honourable Members were present except for the Hon. Alvick Maharaj, Hon. Viliame Naupoto and Hon. Sanjay Kirpal.

4. POINT OF ORDER BY THE LEADER OF THE GOVERNMENT IN PARLIAMENT AND SUSPENSION OF STANDING ORDERS

The Leader of the Government in Parliament the Hon. Lynda Tabuya, stood on a point of order under Standing Order 62(1) and (4)(a) and (d), on an urgent issue of the Hon. Ketan Lal imputing an improper motive to the Hon. Prime Minister, in his contribution on Monday, 10 July 2023.

The Leader of the Government subsequently moved a suspension motion under Standing Order 6 to suspend so much of the Standing Orders so as to allow the House to urgently deal with the urgent issue.

Motion seconded.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

The Hon. Speaker allowed the following Honourable Members to speak on the issue before the House –

Hon. Sitiveni Rabuka, Hon. Inia Seruiratu, Hon. Prof. Biman Prasad, Hon. Viliame Gavoka, Hon. Rinesh Sharma, Hon. Faiyaz Koya, Hon. Ketan Lal, Hon. Lynda Tabuya.

The issue was resolved and would not be referred to the Privileges Committee.

5. <u>CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES</u>

The Leader of the Government in Parliament the Hon. Lynda Tabuya, moved that the Minutes of the sitting of Parliament held on Monday, 10 July 2023 as previously circulated, be taken as read and be confirmed, subject to the records/contribution from Hon. Ketan Lal against the Hon. Prime Minister, that would be expunged accordingly.

Motion seconded.

Question put.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

6. COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE CHAIR

Hon. Speaker welcomed all Honourable Members, those in the public gallery and those watching the live broadcast of the proceedings.

Hon. Speaker delivered his ruling on two points of order raised on Monday, 10 July 2023 by the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Finance and Strategic Planning, National Development and Statistics the Hon. Prof. Biman Prasad.

7. CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

- (a) The Hon. Attorney-General and Minister for Justice the Hon. Siromi Turaga moved a motion pursuant to Standing Order 51
 - (i) That the Liquor (Amendment) Bill 2023 be considered by Parliament without delay;
 - (ii) That the Bill must pass through one stage at a single sitting of Parliament:
 - (iii) That the Bill must not be referred to a Standing Committee or other Committee of Parliament; and
 - (iv) That the Bill must be debated and voted upon by Parliament on Friday (14 July 2023), but that ample time be given to debate the Bill after the vote on the 2023-2024 Appropriation Bill 2023 and the Consequential Bills, with the right of reply given to the Attorney-General as the Member moving the motion.

Motion seconded.

Motion debated.

Question put.

Votes Cast -

Yes – 28 No – 17 Not Voted – 8

Motion agreed to.

- (b) The Hon. Attorney-General and Minister for Justice the Hon. Siromi Turaga moved a motion pursuant to Standing Order 51
 - (i) That the Immigration (Amendment) Bill 2023 be considered by Parliament without delay;
 - (ii) That the Bill must pass through one stage at a single sitting of Parliament:
 - (iii) That the Bill must not be referred to a Standing Committee or other Committee of Parliament; and
 - (iv) That the Bill must be debated and voted upon by Parliament on Friday (14 July 2023), but that ample time be given to debate the Bill after the vote on the 2023-2024 Appropriation Bill 2023 and the Consequential Bills, with the right of reply given to the Attorney-General as the Member moving the motion.

Motion seconded.

Motion debated.

Question put.

Votes Cast -

Yes – 24 No – 21 Not Voted – 8

Motion agreed to.

- (c) The Hon. Attorney-General and Minister for Justice the Hon. Siromi Turaga moved a motion pursuant to Standing Order 51
 - (i) That the Interpretation (Amendment) Bill 2023 be considered by Parliament without delay;
 - (ii) That the Bill must pass through one stage at a single sitting of Parliament:
 - (iii) That the Bill must not be referred to a Standing Committee or other Committee of Parliament; and
 - (iv) That the Bill must be debated and voted upon by Parliament on Friday (14 July 2023), but that ample time be given to debate the Bill after the vote on the 2023-2024 Appropriation Bill 2023 and the Consequential Bills, with the right of reply given to the Attorney-General as the Member moving the motion.

Motion seconded.

Motion debated.

Question put.

Votes Cast -

Yes – 27 No – 21 Not Voted – 5

Motion agreed to.

- (d) The Hon. Attorney-General and Minister for Justice the Hon. Siromi Turaga moved a motion pursuant to Standing Order 51
 - (i) That the Electoral (Registration of Voters) (Amendment) Bill 2023_be considered by Parliament without delay;
 - (ii) That the Bill must pass through one stage at a single sitting of Parliament;
 - (iii) That the Bill must not be referred to a Standing Committee or other Committee of Parliament: and
 - (iv) That the Bill must be debated and voted upon by Parliament on Friday (14 July 2023), but that ample time be given to debate the Bill after the vote on the 2023-2024 Appropriation Bill 2023 and the Consequential Bills, with the right of reply given to the Attorney-General as the Member moving the motion.

Motion seconded.

Motion debated.

Question put.

Votes Cast -

Yes – 27 No – 21 Not Voted – 5

Motion agreed to.

8. <u>RESUMPTION OF DEBATE ON THE SECOND READING OF THE 2023–2024</u> APPROPRIATION BILL 2023 (BILL NO. 3 OF 2023)

Parliament resumed debate on the Second Reading on a Bill to appropriate a sum of three billion, seven hundred sixty one million, nine hundred seventy nine thousand four hundred four dollars for the ordinary services of Government for the year ending 31 July 2024.

The following Members contributed to the debate –

Hon. Aseri Radrodro, Hon. Virendra Lal, Hon. Kalaveti Ravu, Hon. Naisa Tuinaceva, Hon. Vatimi Rayalu, Hon. Ioane Naivalurua, Hon. Jese Saukuru, Hon. Joseph Nand, Hon. Agni Singh, Hon. Vijay Nath, Hon. Charan Singh, Hon. Alipate Tuicolo, Hon. Lynda Tabuya, Hon. Ratu Josaia Niudamu, Hon. Pio Tikoduadua, Hon. Viam Pillay, Hon. Sakiusa Tubuna, Hon. Penioni Ravunawa, Hon. Ratu Isikeli Tuiwailevu and Hon. Ro Filipe Tuisawau.

9. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

Hon. Speaker thanked all Honourable Members for their contributions and adjourned Parliament until Wednesday, 12 July 2023 at 9.30 a.m.

Parliament adjourned at 10.36 p.m.

Speaker of Parliament

Secretary-General to Parliament

11th July, 2023.