

FACT SHEET PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF FIJI

PARLIAMENTARY COMMITTEES

Parliamentary committees are small groups of members of Parliament who work together to investigate and consider issues on behalf of Parliament. They are able to meet with people and call for documents to assist them in their work. They report their findings to Parliament and can make recommendations for changes to laws and administration.

There are three types of Committees that exist in the Fijian Parliament:

- 1. Standing Committees;
- 2. Select Committees; and
- 3. Special Committees.

Standing Committees

There are six (6) Standing Committees. The functions of the Standing Committees are to:

- 1. Examine and make amendments to Bills tabled in Parliament;
- 2. Scrutinise Government departments and make recommendations on any aspect of the department's administration;
- 3. Consider petitions and papers presented to Parliament;
- 4. Review international treaties ratified by the Government and monitor their implementation; and
- 5. Perform other functions according to the Standing Orders and decisions of Parliament.

The Standing Committees have the same powers as the High Court to summon any person to appear during hearings, produce evidence and also consult and liaise with Government departments.

Meetings are open to the public and the media. At other times Standing Committees can also hold closed meetings to consider issues of national security, third party confidential information, personnel or human resources; or when finalising the committee's recommendations and reports.

Select Committees

The Select Committees are tasked with managing the business of Parliament. There are four (4) Select Committees: Business Committee; House Committee; Privileges Committee; and the Standing Orders Committee.

Special Committees

A Special Committee can be established by Parliament to work on any specific issue. The committee has the same powers as the Standing Committees.

