

PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF FIJI

MINUTES

of Proceedings of Parliament at Suva on Wednesday, Fifteenth day of February, 2023

- 1. The House met at 9.30 a.m. pursuant to adjournment.
- 2. Hon. Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer.

3. <u>MEMBERS PRESENT</u>

All Honourable Members were present except for the Hon. Prof. Biman Prasad, Hon. Charan Singh, Hon. Agni Singh, Hon. Josaia Bainimarama and Hon. Alvick Maharaj.

4. <u>CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES</u>

The Leader of the Government in Parliament the Hon. Lynda Tabuya moved that the Minutes of the sitting of Parliament held on Monday, 13 February 2023, as previously circulated be taken as read and be confirmed.

Motion seconded.

Question put.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

5. <u>COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE CHAIR</u>

Hon. Speaker welcomed all Honourable Members to the sitting of Parliament. He also welcomed those in the gallery and all those watching the live broadcast and the live-streaming of the proceedings from home, offices and electronic devices.

Hon. Speaker also addressed Parliament and reiterated his communication on the decision of the Business Committee with respect to the waiver of Standing Orders 28, 29 and 30. He also advised that precedence had been set where matters are agreed to at the Business Committee and subsequently formalised on the floor of Parliament. Hon. Speaker also addressed the Parliament on a matter of privilege which was raised by the Minister for Home Affairs and Immigration the Hon. Pio Tikoduadua pursuant to Standing Order 134. The matter of privilege was against the response by the Leader of the Opposition the Hon. Josaia Bainimarama to His Excellency's the President's address. The Hon. Speaker referred the matter to the Privileges Committee and informed the Committee that they must table their report on Friday, 17 February 2023.

6. <u>RESUMPTION OF DEBATE ON THE MOTION BY THE HONOURABLE PRIME</u> <u>MINISTER</u>

Parliament resumed debate on the motion that the Parliament thanks His Excellency the President for his most gracious speech.

Debate ensued.

[Speakers: Hon. Dr Ratu Atonio Lalabalavu, Hon. Sanjay Kirpal, Hon. Maciu Nalumisa, Hon. Semi Koroilavesau, Hon. Joseph Nand, Hon. Lenora Qereqeretabua, Hon. Shalen Kumar, Hon. Premila Kumar, Hon. Kalaveti Ravu, Hon. Lynda Tabuya, Hon. Ketan Lal, Hon. Vatimi Rayalu, Hon. Aliki Bia, Hon. Jese Saukuru and Hon. Aseri Radrodro.]

7. ADJOURNMENT

Hon. Deputy Speaker thanked the Honourable Members for their contributions and adjourned Parliament until Thursday, 16 February 2023 at 9.30 a.m.

Parliament adjourned at 4.54 p.m.

Speaker of Parliament

Secretary-General to Parliament

15th February, 2023.