

# PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF FIJI

# **MINUTES**

# of Proceedings of Parliament at Suva on Saturday, Twenty-fourth Day of December, 2022

- 1. The House met at 9:30 a.m. pursuant to notice.
- 2. The Secretary-General read the Prayer.
- 3. The Secretary-General read the Proclamation summoning the Parliament of the Republic of Fiji to meet.

# 4. <u>LAYING ON THE TABLE A LIST OF NAMES OF THE ELECTED MEMBERS</u>

The Secretary-General laid on the Table a list of the names of the elected Members of Parliament.

## 5. <u>ADMINISTRATION OF OATH OR AFFIRMATION</u>

All Honourable Members took their Oath of Allegiance or made their Affirmation of Allegiance.

- 1. Hon. Akbar, Rosy Sofia
- 2. Hon. Bainimarama, Josaia Vorege
- 3. Hon. Bainivalu, Alitia Vakatai Bavou Cirikiyasawa
- 4. Hon. Bala, Parveen Kumar
- 5. Hon. Bia, Aliki
- 6. Hon. Bulitavu, Mosese Drecala
- 7. Hon. Chand, Hem
- 8. Hon. Ditoka, Sakiasi Raisevu
- 9. Hon. Gavoka, Viliame Rogoibulu
- 10. Hon. Immanuel, Esrom Yosef
- 11. Hon. Kamikamica, Manoa Seru Nakausabaria
- 12. Hon. Kiran, Sashi
- 13. Hon. Kirpal, Sanjay Salend

- 14. Hon. Koroilavesau, Semi Tuleca
- 15. Hon. Koya, Faiyaz Siddiq
- 16. Hon. Kumar, Premila Devi
- 17. Hon. Kumar, Shalen
- 18. Hon. Lal, Ketan Kirit
- 19. Hon, Lalabalavu, Ratu Atonio Rabici
- 20. Hon. Maharaj, Alvick Avhikrit
- 21. Hon. Naivalurua, Ioane
- 22. Hon. Nalumisa, Maciu Katamotu
- 23. Hon. Nand, Joseph Nitya
- 24. Hon. Nath, Vijay
- 25. Hon. Naupoto, Viliame
- 26. Hon. Niudamu, Ratu Josaia Bulavakarua
- 27. Hon. Pillay, Viam
- 28. Hon. Prasad, Biman Chand
- 29. Hon. Qeregeretabua, Lenora Salusalu
- 30. Hon. Rabuka, Sitiveni Ligamamada
- 31. Hon. Radrodro, Aseri Masivou
- 32. Hon. Ravu, Kalaveti Vodo
- 33. Hon. Rayalu, Vatimi Tidara Tuinasakea Kaunitawake
- 34. Hon. Reddy, Mahendra
- 35. Hon. Saukuru, Jese
- 36. Hon. Sayed-Khaiyum, Aiyaz
- 37. Hon. Seruiratu, Inia Batikoto
- 38. Hon. Sharma, Rinesh Rajesh
- 39. Hon. Singh, Agni Deo
- 40. Hon. Singh, Charan Jeath
- 41. Hon. Tabuya, Lynda Diseru
- 42. Hon. Tikoduadua, Pio
- 43. Hon. Tubuna, Sakiusa
- 44. Hon. Tuinaceva, Naisa Tatau
- 45. Hon. Tuisawau, Ro Filipe Qaranigio
- 46. Hon. Tuiwailevu, Isikeli
- 47. Hon. Tunabuna, Tomasi Niuvotu
- 48. Hon. Turaga, Siromi Dokonivalu
- 49. Hon, Usamate, Jone
- 50. Hon. Vakalalabure, Ratu Rakuita Solesole Sauramaeva
- 51. Hon. Vanawalu, Iliesa Sovui
- 52. Hon. Vasu, Ifereimi
- 53. Hon. Vocea, Jovesa Rokuta
- 54. Hon. Vosarogo, Filimoni Wainigolo Rasokisoki
- 55. Hon. Wagainabete, Ifereimi

## 6. <u>ELECTION OF SPEAKER</u>

#### First Nomination

Hon. Alvick Maharaj moved that H.E Ratu Epeli Nailatikau be elected as Speaker of the Parliament.

The Hon. Inia Seruiratu seconded the nomination.

The Hon. Alvick Maharaj gave a brief account of the nominee's credentials.

# **Second Nomination**

The Hon. Prof. Biman Prasad moved that Ratu Naiqama Lalabalavu be elected as Speaker of Parliament.

The Hon. Ro Filipe Tuisawau seconded the nomination.

The Hon. Prof. Biman Prasad gave a brief account of the nominee's credentials.

There being two nominations for the position of Speaker of Parliament, and pursuant to Standing Order 17(7), Parliament proceeded with secret ballot to elect the Speaker.

The results of the secret ballot were as follows -

H.E Ratu Epeli Nailatikau – 27 votes Ratu Naiqama Lalabalavu – 28 votes

Having received the greatest number of votes, Hon. Ratu Naiqama Lalabalavu was declared as Speaker of the Parliament of the Republic of Fiji. Pursuant to Standing Order 17(11), the ballot papers were destroyed in the presence of the scrutineers.

Hon. Ratu Naiqama Lalabalavu was escorted to the Table by the Hon. Prof. Biman Prasad and the Hon. Ro Filipe Tuisawau, to take the Oath of Allegiance and of Office of Speaker of Parliament.

# 7. <u>ELECTION OF DEPUTY SPEAKER</u>

#### First Nomination

The Hon. Lynda Tabuya moved that Hon. Lenora Qereqeretabua be elected as the Deputy Speaker of Parliament.

The Hon. Charan Singh seconded the nomination.

#### **Second Nomination**

The Hon. Alvick Maharaj moved that Hon. Viliame Naupoto be elected as the Deputy Speaker of Parliament.

The Hon. Inia Seruiratu seconded the nomination.

There being two nominations for the position of Deputy Speaker of Parliament, and pursuant to Standing Order 19(6), Parliament proceeded with secret ballot to elect the Deputy Speaker.

The results of the secret ballot were as follows –

Hon. Lenora Qereqeretabua – 28 votes Hon. Viliame Naupoto – 27 votes

Having received the greatest number of votes, the Hon. Speaker declared Hon. Lenora Qerequeretabua elected as Deputy Speaker of the Parliament of the Republic of Fiji. Pursuant to Standing Order 19(10), the ballot papers were destroyed in the presence of the scrutineers.

Hon. Lenora Qerequetabua took the Oath of Allegiance and of Office of Deputy Speaker of Parliament.

## 8. <u>ELECTION OF PRIME MINISTER</u>

#### First Nomination

The Hon. Viliame Gavoka moved that Hon. Sitiveni Ligamamada Rabuka be elected as the Prime Minister of the Republic of Fiji.

The Hon. Prof. Biman Prasad seconded the nomination.

#### **Second Nomination**

The Hon. Alvick Maharaj moved that Hon. Josaia Voreqe Bainimarama be elected as Prime Minister of the Republic of Fiji.

The Hon. Inia Seruiratu seconded the nomination

There being two nominations for the position of Prime Minister of the Republic of Fiji, and pursuant to Standing Order 13, Parliament proceeded with secret ballot to elect the Prime Minister.

The results of the secret ballot were as follows -

Hon. Sitiveni Ligamamada Rabuka – 28 votes Hon. Josaia Vorege Bainimarama – 27 votes

Having received more than half of all Members votes, the Hon. Speaker declared Hon. Sitiveni Ligamamada Rabuka elected as Prime Minister of the Republic of Fiji. Pursuant to Standing Order 13(9), the ballot papers were destroyed in the presence of the scrutineers.

The Hon. Speaker informed all Honourable Members that pursuant to Standing Order 13, the House would suspend proceedings to allow the Hon. Prime Minister and his Cabinet to proceed to the State House to take before His Excellency the President, the Oath of Allegiance and of Office, which the President would administer.

#### 9. ELECTION OF LEADER OF THE OPPOSITION

The Hon. Alvick Maharaj moved that the Hon. Josaia Voreqe Bainimarama be elected as Leader of the Opposition.

Hon. Inia Seruiratu seconded the nomination.

There being only one nomination, the Hon. Speaker declared Hon. Josaia Vorege Bainimarama elected as Leader of the Opposition.

#### 10. MOTION FOR THE ADOPTION OF THE STANDING ORDERS

The Hon. Ro Filipe Tuisawau moved that pursuant to section 71 of the Constitution, the Standing Orders of the Parliament of the Republic of Fiji published and gazetted on 1st April 2019, be adopted by Parliament.

Motion seconded.

Motion debated.

Question put.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

The Hon. Speaker informed all Honourable Members that pursuant to Standing Order 128(2), the Standing Orders Committee would convene to review the Standing Orders and report back to Parliament within 14 sitting days.

#### 11. ADJOURNMENT

The Hon. Speaker informed all Honourable Members that pursuant to Standing Order 10(2), Parliament stood adjourned until a time appointed by His Excellency the President for the Opening of Parliament and for the President's speech. The Hon. Speaker further informed all Honourable Members that when the notification was received, they would be notified accordingly.

Parliament adjourned at 5.33 p.m.

**Speaker of Parliament** 

**Secretary-General to Parliament** 

24 December 2022