

PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF FIJI

MINUTES

of Proceedings of Parliament at Suva on Monday, Thirteenth day of February, 2023

- 1. The House met at 9.30 a.m. pursuant to adjournment.
- 2. Hon. Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer.

3. MEMBERS PRESENT

All Honourable Members were present.

4. <u>ADMINISTRATION OF OATH</u>

The following Honourable Members took their Oath of Allegiance and the Oath for Members of Parliament –

- 1. Hon. Ravunawa, Penioni Koliniwai; and
- 2. Hon. Tuicolo, Alipate.

5. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

The Leader of the Government in Parliament the Hon. Lynda Tabuya, moved that the Minutes of the sittings of Parliament held on Saturday, 24 December 2022, and Friday, 3 February 2023, as previously circulated be taken as read and be confirmed.

Motion seconded.

Question put.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

6. COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE CHAIR

Hon. Speaker welcomed all Honourable Members to the sitting of Parliament. He also welcomed all those watching the live broadcast and the live-streaming of the proceedings from home, offices and electronic devices.

Hon. Speaker reminded all Honourable Members on the use of the vernacular on the floor of Parliament, the subsequent translations through the available audio channels as well as in the *Hansard* reports, and the bell timings on their desks.

Business Committee Decision

Hon. Speaker informed the Honourable Members of the unanimous decision of the Business Committee –

- (1) That the Parliament may sit beyond 4.30pm from Monday to Thursday, and beyond 12.30pm on Friday; and
- (2) Lunch breaks to be limited to one hour.

Reinstatement of Parliamentary Business

Hon. Speaker also informed all Honourable Members, that all pending Parliamentary business (except for the lapsed Bills) from the last term of Parliament would be reinstated, so that the Standing Committees can continue from where the last Parliament left off. He also advised that there were 68 Annual Reports, 1 Treaty and 21 Committee reports pending with the respective Standing Committees.

Composition - Standing and Select Committees

Pursuant to Standing Order 115(4), the Hon. Speaker informed Parliament of the following appointments –

A. Standing Committee on Public Accounts

- 1. Hon. Esrom Immanuel
- 2. Hon. Sakiusa Tubuna
- 3. Hon. Jovesa Vocea
- 4. Hon. Alvick Maharaj
- 5. Hon, Hem Chand

B. Standing Committee on Justice, Law and Human Rights

- Hon. Ratu Rakuita Vakalalabure
- 2. Hon. Lenora Qeregeretabua
- 3. Hon. Iliesa Vanawalu
- 4. Hon. Faiyaz Koya
- 5. Hon. Mosese Bulitavu

C. Standing Committee on Economic Affairs

- 1. Hon. Sakiusa Tubuna
- 2. Hon. Tomasi Tunabuna
- 3. Hon. Sashi Kiran

- 4. Hon. Premila Kumar
- 5. Hon. Semi Koroilavesau

D. Standing Committee on Natural Resources

- 1. Hon. Isikeli Tuiwailevu
- 2. Hon. Tomasi Tunabuna
- 3. Hon. Iliesa Vanawalu
- 4. Hon. Inia Seruiratu
- 5. Hon. Sanjay Kirpal

E. Standing Committee on Social Affairs

- 1. Hon. Alitia Bainivalu
- 2. Hon, Sashi Kiran
- 3. Hon. Ratu Rakuita Vakalalabure
- 4. Hon. Parveen Kumar
- 5. Hon. Viam Pillay

F. Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and Defence

- 1. Hon. Lenora Qeregeretabua
- 2. Hon. Jovesa Vocea
- 3. Hon. Isikeli Tuiwailevu
- 4. Hon. Viliame Naupoto
- 5. Hon. Ioane Naivalurua

The Hon. Speaker further advised that pursuant to Standing Order 116(1) and (2), the Secretary-General would convene the first meeting of each standing committee and also notify Committee members of the date for the first meeting.

The Hon. Speaker also informed the Parliament of the Select Committee memberships –

Business Committee

- 1) Hon. Speaker (Chairperson)
- 2) Prime Minister, Hon. Sitiveni Rabuka
- 3) Deputy Prime Minister, Hon. Prof. Biman Prasad
- 4) Deputy Prime Minister, Hon. Viliame Gavoka
- 5) Leader of the Government, Hon. Lynda Tabuya
- 6) Leader of the Opposition, Hon. Josaia Bainimarama
- 7) Hon. Faiyaz Koya
- 8) Hon. Inia Seruiratu
- 9) Hon. Alvick Maharaj

House Committee

- 1) Hon. Speaker (Chairperson)
- 2) Deputy Speaker, Hon. Lenora Qereqeretabua
- 3) Minister for Lands and Mineral Resources, Hon. Filimoni Vosarogo
- 4) Hon. Lynda Tabuya
- 5) Hon. Naisa Tuinaceva
- 6) Hon. Ketan Lal

Standing Orders Committee

- 1) Hon. Speaker (Chairperson)
- 2) Leader of the Government, Hon. Lynda Tabuya
- 3) Government Whip, Hon. Alitia Bainivalu
- 4) NFP Whip, Hon. Pio Tikoduadua
- 5) SODELPA Whip, Hon. Aseri Radrodro
- 6) Opposition Whip, Hon. Alvick Maharaj

Privileges Committee

- 1) Deputy Speaker, Hon. Lenora Qereqeretabua (Chairperson)
- 2) Hon. Lynda Tabuya
- 3) Hon. Ratu Rakuita Vakalalabure
- 4) Hon. Esrom Immanuel
- 5) Hon. Faiyaz Koya
- 6) Hon. Jone Usamate

Hon. Speaker also informed all Honourable Members that the Honourable Deputy Speaker would, from time to time, preside over proceedings.

7. MOTION IN THE NAME OF THE HONOURABLE PRIME MINISTER

The Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs, Climate Change, Environment, Civil Service, Information, Public Enterprises and Veteran Affairs the Hon. Sitiveni Rabuka moved that the Parliament thanks His Excellency the President for His most gracious speech.

Motion was seconded by the Leader of the Government in Parliament the Hon. Lynda Tabuya.

Debate ensued.

[Speakers: Prime Minister the Hon. Sitiveni Rabuka, Leader of the Opposition the Hon. Josaia Bainimarama, Hon. Alitia Bainivalu, Hon. Sakiasi Ditoka, Hon. Parveen Bala, Hon. Viliame Gavoka, Hon. Alvick Maharaj, Hon. Esrom Immanuel, Hon. Mosese Bulitavu, Hon. Manoa Kamikamica, Hon. Hem Chand and Hon. Sashi Kiran]

8. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

Hon. Speaker thanked the Honourable Members for their contributions and adjourned Parliament until Wednesday, 15 February 2023 at 9.30 a.m.

Parliament adjourned at 5.47 p.m.

Speaker of Parliament

Secretary-General to Parliament

13th February, 2023.