

PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF FIJI

MINUTES

of Proceedings of Parliament at Suva on Monday, Twenty-fifth Day of July, 2022

- 1. The House met at 9.30 a.m. pursuant to adjournment.
- 2. Hon. Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer.

3. <u>MEMBERS PRESENT</u>

All Honourable Members were present except for the Hon. Parveen Bala, Hon. Rosy Akbar, Hon. Ro Teimumu Kepa and Hon. Adi Litia Qionibaravi.

Virtual Attendance: Hon. Rohit Sharma.

4. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

The Leader of the Government in Parliament the Hon. Inia Seruiratu, moved that the Minutes of the sitting of Parliament held on Friday, 15 July 2022 as previously circulated, be taken as read and be confirmed.

Motion seconded.

Question put.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

5. COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE CHAIR

Hon. Speaker welcomed all Honourable Members, those in the public gallery and those watching the live broadcast of the proceedings.

Hon. Speaker informed the Honourable Members on the unanimous decision of the Business Committee on Monday, 11 July 2022 as follows –

- (a) that the Shadow Minister for Economy in delivering the response to the Budget Address will speak for the same time as the Hon. Attorney-General and Minister for Economy;
- (b) that the Hon. Attorney-General and Minister for Economy will be exempted from the ordinary speaking time limitations during his right of reply to the Second Reading of the Appropriation Bill;
- (c) that the Parliament will sit for extended hours and into the late nights;
- (d) that the Parliament will take limited breaks including lunch and dinner at the discretion of the Speaker; and
- (e) that in the event that business for any given day is concluded earlier, that business be brought forward accordingly.

Hon. Speaker also addressed Parliament on the issue of the vacant seat of the Hon. Ratu Suliano Matanitobua.

6. CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

Pursuant to Standing Order 51, the Attorney-General and Minister for Economy, Civil Service, Communications, Housing and Community Development the Hon. Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum moved that the following Bills be considered by Parliament without delay –

- 1. Television (Cross-Carriage of Designated Events) (Repeal) Bill 2022 (Bill No. 39 of 2022):
- 2. Telecommunications (Budget Amendment) Bill 2022 (Bill No. 40 of 2022);
- 3. Illicit Drugs Control (Budget Amendment) Bill 2022 (Bill No. 41 of 2022);
- 4. Fiji National Provident Fund (Budget Amendment) Bill 2022 (Bill No. 42 of 2022):
- 5. Pharmacy Profession (Budget Amendment) Bill 2022 (Bill No. 43 of 2022); and
- 6. Medicinal Products (Budget Amendment) Bill 2022 (Bill No. 44 of 2022).

That pursuant to Standing Order 51, that the Bills –

- (a) must pass through one stage at a single sitting of Parliament;
- (b) must not be referred to a Standing Committee or other Committees of Parliament;
- (c) must be debated and voted upon by Parliament immediately after the vote on the 2022–2023 Appropriation Bill 2022; and
- (d) that the time for the debate be limited to ensure that the Bills tabled today are debated and voted upon during this week's sitting of Parliament.

Motion seconded.

Motion debated.

Question put.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

7. SECOND READING OF THE 2022–2023 APPROPRIATION BILL 2022 (BILL NO. 27 OF 2022)

The Attorney-General and Minister for Economy, Civil Service, Communications, Housing and Community Development the Hon. Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum moved that A Bill to appropriate a sum of three billion, three hundred twenty million, two thousand, one hundred eighty four dollars for the ordinary services of Government for the year ending 31 July 2023, be read a second time.

Motion seconded.

The following Members contributed to the debate –

Hon. Ratu Naiqama Lalabalavu, Hon. Josaia Bainimarama, Hon. Mitieli Bulanauca, Hon. Selai Adimaitoga, Hon. Viliame Gavoka, Hon. Anare Jale, Hon. Dr Salik Govind, Hon. Inosi Kuridrani, Hon. Sanjay Kirpal, Hon. Dr Ratu Atonio Lalabalavu, Hon. Semi Koroilavesau, Hon. Mikaele Leawere, Hon. Faiyaz Koya, Hon. Mere Naulumatua, Hon. Premila Kumar, Hon. Ratu Tevita Navurelevu, Hon. Virendra Lal, Hon. Prof. Biman Prasad, Hon. Alvick Maharaj, Hon. Lenora Qereqeretabua and Hon. Alipate Nagata.

8. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

Hon. Speaker thanked all Honourable Members for their contributions and adjourned Parliament until Tuesday, 26 July 2022 at 9.30 a.m.

Parliament adjourned at 9.37 p.m.

Speaker of Parliament

Secretary-General to Parliament

25th July, 2022.