

### PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF FIJI

# **MINUTES**

## of Proceedings of Parliament at Suva on Tuesday, Twenty-seventh Day of July, 2021

- 1. The House met at 9.30 a.m. pursuant to adjournment.
- 2. Hon. Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer.
- 3. <u>MEMBERS PRESENT</u>

All Honourable Members were present.

#### 4. <u>CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES</u>

The Leader of the Government in Parliament the Hon. Inia Seruiratu moved that the Minutes of the sitting of Parliament held on Monday, 26 July 2021 as previously circulated, be taken as read and be confirmed.

Motion seconded.

Question put.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

#### 5. <u>COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE CHAIR</u>

Hon. Speaker welcomed all Honourable Members to the sitting and all those watching the live broadcast and the live streaming of the proceedings.

#### 6. <u>CONSIDERATION OF BILLS</u>

Hon. Speaker informed all Honourable Members that there were no Bills for consideration.

#### 7. <u>RESUMPTION OF DEBATE ON THE SECOND READING OF THE 2021–2022</u> <u>APPROPRIATION BILL 2021 (BILL NO. 7 OF 2021)</u>

Parliament resumed debate on the Second Reading of a Bill for an Act to appropriate a sum of three billion, two hundred and sixty six million, six hundred and ninety nine thousand, seven hundred and twenty seven dollars for the ordinary services of Government for the year ending 31 July 2022 (Bill No. 7 of 2021).

The following Members contributed to the debate –

Hon. Joseph Nand, Hon. Lenora Qereqeretabua, Hon. Vijay Nath, Hon. Ratu Tevita Navurelevu, Hon. Adi Litia Qionibaravi, Hon. Alexander O'Connor, Hon. Aseri Radrodro, Hon. Viam Pillay, Hon. Salote Radrodro, Hon. Virendra Lal, Hon. Simione Rasova, Hon. Dr Mahendra Reddy, Hon. Jese Saukuru, Hon. Inia Seruiratu, Hon. Lynda Tabuya, Hon. Rohit Sharma, Hon. Pio Tikoduadua, Hon. Jale Sigarara, Hon. Peceli Vosanibola, Hon. Jone Usamate, Hon. Ro Filipe Tuisawau, Hon. George Vegnathan, Hon. Tanya Waqanika, Hon. Dr Ifereimi Waqainabete and Hon. Mereseini Vuniwaqa.

Hon. Speaker thanked the Honourable Members for their contributions and adjourned the Parliament until Wednesday, 28 July 2021 at 9.30 a.m.

Parliament adjourned at 8.35 p.m.

**Speaker of Parliament** 

**Secretary-General to Parliament** 

27<sup>th</sup> July, 2021.