

PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF FIJI

MINUTES

of Proceedings of Parliament at Suva on Wednesday, Twenty-eighth Day of July, 2021

- 1. The House met at 9.30 a.m. pursuant to adjournment.
- 2. Hon. Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer.

3. <u>MEMBERS PRESENT</u>

All Honourable Members were present except for the Hon. Ratu Tevita Navurelevu.

4. <u>CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES</u>

The Leader of the Government in Parliament the Hon. Inia Seruiratu moved that the Minutes of the sitting of Parliament held on Tuesday, 27 July 2021 as previously circulated, be taken as read and be confirmed.

Motion seconded.

Question put.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

5. <u>COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE CHAIR</u>

Hon. Speaker welcomed all Honourable Members to the sitting and all those watching the live broadcast and the live streaming of the proceedings.

Hon. Speaker delivered his ruling on the petitions in relation to the iTaukei Land Trust (Budget Amendment) Bill 2021 (Bill No. 17 of 2021), which were submitted by the Hon. Viliame Gavoka, Hon. Lynda Tabuya and Hon. Jese Saukuru.

6. <u>MOTION BY THE ATTORNEY-GENERAL AND MINISTER FOR ECONOMY,</u> <u>CIVIL SERVICE AND COMMUNICATIONS</u>

The Attorney-General and Minister for Economy, Civil Service and Communications the Hon. Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum moved a motion pursuant to Standing Order 51 that the following Bills –

- (a) Reserve Bank of Fiji (Budget Amendment) Bill 2021;
- (b) Fair Reporting of Credit (Budget Amendment) Bill 2021;
- (c) Maritime Transport (Budget Amendment) Bill 2021;
- (d) Offshore Fisheries Management (Budget Amendment) Bill 2021;
- (e) Land Transport (Budget Amendment) Bill 2021; and
- (f) Financial Management (Amendment) Bill 2021.

Pursuant to the Standing Orders that the Bills –

- (i) must pass through one stage at a single sitting of Parliament;
- (ii) must not be referred to a Standing Committee or other Committees of Parliament;
- (iii) must be debated and voted upon by Parliament immediately after the vote on the Consequential Bills; and
- (iv) that the time for the debate be limited to ensure that the Bills tabled are debated and voted upon during this week's sitting of Parliament.

Motion seconded.

Motion debated.

Question put.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

7. <u>RESUMPTION OF DEBATE ON THE SECOND READING OF THE 2021–2022</u> <u>APPROPRIATION BILL 2021 (BILL NO. 7 OF 2021)</u>

Parliament resumed debate on the Second Reading of a Bill for an Act to appropriate a sum of three billion, two hundred and sixty six million, six hundred and ninety nine thousand, seven hundred and twenty seven dollars for the ordinary services of Government for the year ending 31 July 2022 (Bill No. 7 of 2021).

The Attorney-General and Minister for Economy, Civil Service and Communications the Hon. Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum delivered his right of reply.

Hon. Speaker informed Honourable Members that pursuant to Standing Order 99(3), the 2021-2022 Appropriation Bill 2021 had been read a second time and

without any question being put, the Bill and the Estimates stood referred to the Committee of Supply.

8. <u>COMMITTEE OF SUPPLY ON THE 2021–2022 APPROPRIATION BILL 2021</u> (BILL NO. 7 OF 2021)

Parliament resolved into Committee of Supply on a Bill for an Act to appropriate a sum of three billion, two hundred and sixty six million, six hundred and ninety nine thousand, seven hundred and twenty seven dollars for the ordinary services of Government for the year ending 31 July 2022 (Bill No. 7 of 2021).

Hon. Speaker vacated the Speaker's Chair and convened the Committee of Supply as Mr Chair.

Members debated and voted on the following -

Head 1 - Office of the President

Question put on Head 1.

Head 1 agreed to unanimously.

Head 2 – Office of the Prime Minister

Amendment in the name of the Hon. Lynda Tabuya.

Amendment seconded.

Amendment debated.

Question put.

Hon. Speaker called for the vote by acclamation.

Amendment defeated.

Question put on Head 2.

Head 2 agreed to.

Head 3 – Office of the Attorney-General

Question put on Head 3.

Head 3 agreed to unanimously.

Head 4 – Ministry of Economy

Question put on Head 4.

Head 4 agreed to unanimously.

Head 5 – Ministry of iTaukei Affairs

Question put on Head 5.

Head 5 agreed to unanimously.

Head 6 - Ministry of Defence, National Security and Policing

Question put on Head 6.

Head 6 agreed to unanimously.

Head 7 – Ministry of Employment, Productivity and Industrial Relations

Question put on Head 7.

Head 7 agreed to unanimously.

Head 8 – Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Question put on Head 8.

Head 8 agreed to unanimously.

Head 9 - Independent Bodies

Question put on Head 9.

Head 9 agreed to unanimously.

Head 13 – Independent Commissions

Question put on Head 13.

Head 13 agreed to unanimously.

Head 14 – Fiji Corrections Services

Question put on Head 14.

Head 14 agreed to unanimously.

Head 15 – Ministry of Justice

Question put on Head 15.

Head 15 agreed to unanimously.

Head 16 – Ministry of Communications

Question put on Head 16.

Head 16 agreed to unanimously.

Head 17 – Ministry of Civil Service

Question put on Head 17.

Head 17 agreed to unanimously.

<u>Head 18 – Ministry of Rural and Maritime Development and Disaster</u> <u>Management</u>

Question put on Head 18.

Head 18 agreed to unanimously.

Head 19 – Republic of Fiji Military Forces

Question put on Head 19.

Head 19 agreed to unanimously.

Head 20 – Fiji Police Force

Question put on Head 20.

Head 20 agreed to unanimously.

Head 21 – Ministry of Education, Heritage and Arts

Question put on Head 21.

Head 21 agreed to unanimously.

Hon. Speaker adjourned the Committee of Supply and resumed the Speaker's Chair.

Hon. Speaker thanked the Honourable Members for their contributions and adjourned the Parliament until Thursday, 29 July 2021 at 9.30 a.m.

Parliament adjourned at 4.38 p.m.

Speaker of Parliament

Secretary-General to Parliament

28th July, 2021.