

PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF FIJI

MINUTES

of Proceedings of Parliament at Suva on Tuesday, Eighth Day of December, 2020

- 1. The House met at 9.30 a.m. pursuant to adjournment.
- 2. Hon. Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer.

3. MEMBERS PRESENT

All Honourable Members were present except for the Hon. Faiyaz Koya.

4. <u>CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES</u>

The Leader of the Government in Parliament the Hon. Inia Seruiratu, moved that the Minutes of the sitting of Parliament held on Monday, 7 December 2020, as previously circulated be taken as read and be confirmed.

Motion seconded.

Question put.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

5. COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE CHAIR

Hon. Speaker welcomed all Honourable Members to the sitting of Parliament. He also welcomed all those watching the live broadcast and the live-streaming of the proceedings from the comfort of their home, offices and mobile phones.

Hon. Speaker acknowledged and thanked the Hon. Prime Minister, the Hon. Attorney-General and the Hon. Minister for Local Government, for their responses to Standing Committee reports, pursuant to Standing Order 121(6)(b).

6. ELECTION OF LEADER OF THE OPPOSITION

The Hon. Ratu Suliano Matanitobua moved that the Hon. Ratu Naiqama Lalabalavu be elected as Leader of the Opposition.

Hon. Adi Litia Qionibaravi seconded the nomination.

There being only one nomination, the Hon. Speaker declared Hon. Ratu Naigama Lalabalavu elected as Leader of the Opposition.

7. PRESENTATION OF REPORTS OF COMMITTEES

(a) <u>Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and Defence</u>

The Chairperson of the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and Defence the Hon. Alexander O'Connor tabled the Committee's Review Report on the Agreement between the Republic of Fiji and Solomon Islands concerning their Maritime Boundary.

The Hon. Speaker informed that pursuant to Standing Order 121(1)(b) and Standing Order 130(4)(a), the Standing Committee had reported back to Parliament.

(b) Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and Defence

The Chairperson of the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and Defence the Hon. Alexander O'Connor tabled the Committee's Review Report on the Amendments to the Framework Agreement of the Paris Declaration on the International Solar Alliance of 30th November 2015.

The Hon. Speaker informed that pursuant to Standing Order 121(1)(b) and Standing Order 130(4)(a), the Standing Committee had reported back to Parliament.

(c) <u>Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and Defence</u>

The Chairperson of the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and Defence the Hon. Alexander O'Connor tabled the Committee's Review Report on the Optional Protocol to the Convention on the Rights of the Child on the Sale of Children, Child Prostitution and Child Pornography.

The Hon. Speaker informed that pursuant to Standing Order 121(1)(b) and Standing Order 130(4)(a), the Standing Committee had reported back to Parliament.

8. MOTION PURSUANT TO STANDING ORDER 97

The Leader of the Government in Parliament the Hon. Inia Seruiratu moved, pursuant to Standing Order 97 that the following Bills be restored to the Order Paper –

- 1) Code of Conduct Bill 2018 (Bill No. 33 of 2018);
- 2) Registration of Sex Offenders Bill 2018 (Bill No. 34 of 2018); and
- 3) Cybercrime Bill 2020 (Bill No.11 of 2020).

Motion seconded.

Motion debated.

Question put.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

9. <u>MOTION IN THE NAME OF THE LEADER OF THE GOVERNMENT IN</u> PARLIAMENT

The Leader of the Government in Parliament the Hon. Inia Seruiratu moved that Parliament adopts the sitting calendar for the period February 2021 to December 2021.

Motion seconded.

Motion debated.

Question put.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

10. <u>RESUMPTION OF DEBATE ON THE MOTION BY THE HONOURABLE PRIME MINISTER</u>

Parliament resumed debate on the motion that the Parliament thanks His Excellency the President for His most gracious speech.

Debates ensued.

[Speakers: Hon. Semi Koroilavesau, Hon. Dr Ratu Atonio Lalabalavu, Hon. Ratu Naiqama Lalabalavu, Hon. Premila Kumar, Hon. Mikaele Leawere, Hon. Alvick Maharaj, Hon. Ratu Suliano Matanitobua, Hon. Alipate Nagata, Hon. Ratu Tevita Navurelevu, Hon. Osea Naiqamu, Hon. Niko Nawaikula and Hon. Rosy Akbar.]

11. <u>SUSPENSION MOTION BY THE LEADER OF THE GOVERNMENT IN</u> PARLIAMENT

The Leader of the Government in Parliament the Hon. Inia Seruiratu, moved under Standing Order 6 that so much of Standing Order 23 be suspended to allow the House to sit beyond 4.30 p.m. to complete the remaining items on the Order Paper.

Motion seconded.

Motion debated.

Question put.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

12. CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

Hon. Speaker informed that there were no Bills for consideration.

13. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

Hon. Speaker thanked the Honourable Members for their contributions and adjourned Parliament until 9.30 a.m. on Wednesday, 9 December 2020.

Parliament adjourned at 5.00 p.m.

Speaker of Parliament

Secretary-General to Parliament

8th December, 2020.