

## PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF FIJI

# **MINUTES**

of Proceedings of Parliament at Suva on Monday, Seventh Day of December, 2020

- 1. The House met at 9.30 a.m. pursuant to adjournment.
- 2. Hon. Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer.

#### 3. MEMBERS PRESENT

All Honourable Members were present except for the Hon. Faiyaz Koya, Hon. Rosy Akbar and Hon. Vijendra Prakash.

### 4. <u>CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES</u>

The Leader of the Government in Parliament the Hon. Inia Seruiratu, moved that the Minutes of the sittings of Parliament held on Friday, 4 September 2020 and Monday, 30 November 2020 as previously circulated be taken as read and be confirmed.

Motion seconded.

Question put.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

### 5. <u>COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE CHAIR</u>

Hon. Speaker welcomed all Honourable Members to the sitting of Parliament. He also welcomed all those watching the live broadcast and the live-streaming of the proceedings from the comfort of their home, offices and mobile phones.

Hon. Speaker advised all Honourable Members that Parliament would proceed with a motion to thank His Excellency for his most gracious speech and all Members would have the opportunity to contribute to the debate.

Hon. Speaker also reminded Honourable Members of the Bell Timings and the 20 minutes allocated for their response to His Excellency's Address.

### 6. MOTION IN THE NAME OF THE HONOURABLE PRIME MINISTER

The Prime Minister and Minister for iTaukei Affairs, Sugar Industry and Foreign Affairs the Hon. Josaia Bainimarama moved that the Parliament thanks His Excellency the President for his most gracious speech.

Motion was seconded by the Leader of the Government in Parliament the Hon. Inia Seruiratu.

Debate ensued.

[Speakers: Prime Minister the Hon. Josaia Bainimarama, Hon. Sitiveni Rabuka, Hon. Selai Adimaitoga, Hon. Mitieli Bulanauca, Hon. Mosese Bulitavu, Hon. Parveen Bala, Hon. Viliame Gavoka, Hon. Veena Bhatnagar, Hon. Anare Jale, Hon. Dr Salik Govind, Hon. Ro Teimumu Kepa, Hon. Sanjay Kirpal and Hon. Inosi Kuridrani.]

#### 7. CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

The Hon. Speaker informed that there were no Bills for consideration.

### 8. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

Hon. Speaker thanked the Honourable Members for their contributions and adjourned Parliament until 9.30 a.m. on Tuesday, 8 December 2020.

Parliament adjourned at 4.26 p.m.

### **Speaker of Parliament**

#### **Secretary-General to Parliament**

7<sup>th</sup> December, 2020.