

PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF FIJI

MINUTES

of Proceedings of Parliament at Suva on Tuesday, Twenty-eighth Day of July, 2020

- 1. The House met at 9.30 a.m. pursuant to adjournment.
- 2. Hon. Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer.

3. MEMBERS PRESENT

All Honourable Members were present except for the Hon. Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum.

4. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

The Leader of the Government in Parliament the Hon. Inia Seruiratu moved that the Minutes of the sitting of Parliament held on Monday, 27 July 2020 as previously circulated, be taken as read and be confirmed.

Motion seconded.

Question put.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

5. COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE CHAIR

Hon. Speaker welcomed all Honourable Members to the sitting and all those watching the live broadcast and the live streaming of the proceedings.

6. CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

Hon. Speaker informed all Honourable Members that there were no Bills for consideration.

7. RESUMPTION OF DEBATE ON THE SECOND READING OF THE 2020–2021 APPROPRIATION BILL 2020 (BILL NO. 13 OF 2020)

Parliament resumed debate on the second reading of a Bill for an Act to appropriate a sum of three billion, two hundred and eleven million, nineteen thousand, one hundred and twenty one dollars for the ordinary services of Government for the year ending 31 July 2021 (Bill No. 13 of 2020).

The following Members contributed to the debate –

Hon. Aseri Radrodro, Hon. Ratu Tevita Navurelevu, Hon. Alipate Nagata, Hon. Niko Nawaikula, Hon. Osea Naiqamu, Hon. Prof. Biman Prasad, Hon. Joseph Nand, Hon. Lenora Qereqeretabua, Hon. Vijay Nath, Hon. Adi Litia Qionibaravi, Hon. Alexander O'Connor, Hon. Viam Pillay, Hon. Salote Radrodro, Hon. Vijendra Prakash, Hon. Simione Rasova, Hon. Dr Mahendra Reddy, Hon. Jese Saukuru, Hon. Inia Seruiratu, Hon. Lynda Tabuya, Hon. Rohit Sharma, Hon. Pio Tikoduadua, Hon. Jale Sigarara, Hon. Peceli Vosanibola, Hon. Jone Usamate, Hon. Ro Filipe Tuisawau, Hon. George Vegnathan, Hon. Mereseini Vuniwaqa and Hon. Dr Ifereimi Waqainabete.

Hon. Speaker informed all Honourable Members that remaining items on the Order Paper would be carried over to Wednesday.

Hon. Speaker thanked the Honourable Members for their contributions and adjourned the Parliament until Wednesday, 29 July 2020 at 9.30 a.m.

Parliament adjourned at 9.31 p.m.

Speaker of Parliament

Secretary-General to Parliament

28th July, 2020.