

PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF FIJI

MINUTES

of Proceedings of Parliament at Suva on Friday, Twenty-seventh Day of March, 2020

- 1. The House met at 9.30 a.m. pursuant to adjournment.
- 2. Hon. Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer.

3. <u>MEMBERS PRESENT</u>

All Members were present except for the Hon. Lynda Tabuya, Hon. Dr Ratu Atonio Lalabalavu, Hon. Mikaele Leawere, Hon. Aseri Radrodro and Hon. Jese Saukuru.

4. <u>CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES</u>

The Leader of the Government in Parliament the Hon. Inia Seruiratu, moved that the Minutes of the sitting of Parliament held on Thursday, 26 March 2020 as previously circulated, be taken as read and be confirmed.

Motion seconded.

Question put.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

5. <u>COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE CHAIR</u>

Hon. Speaker warmly welcomed all Honourable Members to the sitting of Parliament and he also welcomed all those watching the live broadcast of the proceedings on television and on the internet.

6. <u>RESUMPTION OF DEBATE ON THE COVID-19 RESPONSE BILL 2020 AND</u> <u>CONSEQUENTIAL BILLS</u>

Hon. Speaker advised all Honourable Members that pursuant to the resolution of Parliament passed on Thursday 26 March 2020, the Parliament would proceed with the resumption of debate on the COVID-19 Response Bill 2020 and Consequential Bills. He reminded all Honourable Members that each Member may speak only once to the COVID-19 Response Bill as well as all the Consequential Bills and that the Leader of the Opposition may take up the same time as the Hon. Attorney-General's Address.

The following Members contributed to the debate -

Hon. Sitiveni Rabuka, Hon. Josaia Voreqe Bainimarama, Hon. Prof. Biman Prasad, Hon. Jone Usamate, Hon. Niko Nawaikula, Hon. Mereseini Vuniwaqa, Hon. Ro Teimumu Kepa, Hon. Dr Mahendra Reddy, Hon. Salote Radrodro, Hon. Rosy Akbar, Hon. Viliame Gavoka, Hon. Dr Ifereimi Waqainabete, Hon. Ro Filipe Tuisawau, Hon. Inia Seruiratu, Hon. Anare Jale, Hon. Premila Kumar, Hon. Adi Litia Qionibaravi, Hon. Osea Naiqamu, Hon. Pio Tikoduadua, Hon. Parveen Bala, Hon. Lenora Qereqeretabua, Hon. Selai Adimaitoga, Hon. Mosese Bulitavu and Hon. Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum (right of reply).

Question put, with the amendments to Bill No. 2 of 2020, Bill No. 3 of 2020 and Bill No. 7 of 2020 as earlier circulated to all Honourable Members.

Motion agreed to.

The following Bills –

- (1) A Bill for an Act to Appropriate a Sum of Three Billion, One Hundred Thirty Six Million, Seventy Five Thousand, Three Hundred Forty Five Dollars for the ordinary services of Government for the year commencing 1 August 2019 and ending 31 July 2020 (Bill No. 1 of 2020);
- (2) A Bill for an Act to Amend the Tax Administration Act 2009 (Bill No. 2 of 2020);
- (3) A Bill for an Act to amend the Income Tax Act 2015 (Bill No. 3 of 2020);
- (4) A Bill for an Act to amend the Value Added Tax Act 1991 (Bill No. 4 of 2020);
- (5) A Bill for an Act to amend the Stamp Duties Act 1920 (Bill No. 5 of 2020);
- (6) A Bill for an Act to amend the Customs Act 1986 (Bill No. 6 of 2020);
- (7) A Bill for an Act to amend the Customs Tariff Act 1986 (Bill No. 7 of 2020);
- (8) A Bill for an Act to amend the Fiji National Provident Fund Act 2011 (Bill No. 8 of 2020); and

(9) A Bill for an Act to amend the Public Health Act 1935 (Bill No. 9 of 2020),

Enacted by the Parliament of the Republic of Fiji.

7. <u>SUSPENSION MOTION BY THE LEADER OF THE GOVERNMENT IN</u> <u>PARLIAMENT</u>

The Leader of the Government in Parliament the Hon. Inia Seruiratu moved under Standing Order 6 that so much of Standing Order 46, be suspended to allow the Attorney-General and Minister for Economy, Civil Service and Communications to move without notice a motion pursuant to section 13 of the Parliamentary Remunerations Act 2014.

Motion seconded.

Motion debated.

Question put.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

8. <u>CONSIDERATION OF BILLS</u>

The Attorney-General and Minister for Economy, Civil Service and Communications moved that Parliament makes a determination to suspend the remuneration of the following positions by 20% of the amounts set out in Part A of the Schedule to the Parliamentary Remunerations Act 2014 till 31 December 2020–

- (a) the Prime Minister;
- (b) the Minister for Economy;
- (c) the Ministers for Health, Education, Infrastructure and Transport;
- (d) Other Ministers;
- (e) Assistant Ministers;
- (f) the Leader of the Opposition; and
- (g) the Members of Parliament.

Motion seconded.

Motion debated.

Question put.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

9. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

The Leader of the Government in Parliament moved that Parliament adjourns until Monday, 27 April 2020 at 9.30 a.m.

Motion seconded.

Question put.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

Honourable Speaker thanked all Honourable Members, for their contributions to the 2-days' and he warmly congratulated the Government for the passing of the COVID-19 Response Budget.

He reiterated that in the national efforts to contain the coronavirus, all need to continue the fight by washing hands with soap and water, practising physical and social distancing and following any and every directive given by the authorities.

The Hon. Speaker adjourned Parliament until Monday, 27 April 2020 at 9.30 a.m.

Parliament adjourned at 4.43 p.m.

Speaker of Parliament

Secretary-General to Parliament

27th March, 2020.